November Giveaway: What’s Your Fave Christmas Recipe?

I warned you it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! And if I was a truly horrible person I’d also warn you how many shopping days there are left till Christmas. Yes, I suppose there is a possibility that, to do that, might be construed as  a Public Service Announcement – but honestly? I’m not that noble.

Why? I sooo don’t need that stress…

But – stress aside, it IS my fave time of the year. I love the music, the spirituality, the smells, the shops, the traditions – and yes the food. Each year we have traditional fare that we always bake or make.

We usually have a tree trimming party – and scattered in with everything else that may change from year to year – there are always my mini sausage rolls, prawns wrapped in bacon, onion tarts and arrancini.    After there’d be the yummy moist fruitcake that my mother and grandmother have also been making for probably a hundred years.  (Don’t try to do the math – I’m very bad at it. Just take my word and we’ll all be happy. Okay?) And of course yummy sweets and fruit and nuts.  

On Christmas Day, we usually have seafood followed by a traditional roast pork, turkey and chicken hot lunch with masses of roast vegies. Afterward we always have my mum’s mini Christmas puds with custard and cream, pavlova and  great, ice-cream and lolly Christmas pudd for those who don’t like traditional pudding.

My November giveaway is all about that time of getting ready for Christmas – creating edible gifts, and creating treats for your family and friends. There is a box of 30 Illustrated Christmas Recipe Cards  filled wth fun ideas – and a very cute 6-cavity, silicone cake-mould shaped like Chrstmas trees on offer! I’d also use these for chocolate treats – or coconut ice or  fudge as well. What would you use them for?

It’s easy to win – actually super, super easy this month as we only have two weeks left of the month!!! All you have to do to go in the draw is to leave a comment on any blog this month. To make it easy and fun this particular blog – I’d love to know about any tradition/s you have  – and I’d especially love to know which Christmas food is your fave? What food or tradition is your absolute fave? 

Everyone is welcome to join in the fun. If you have young people in your life or house who’d like to offer their fave things, I’d love to hear from the as well.

6 Responses

  1. Toss up between roast pork complete with naughty but nice crunchy crackling and Christmas Cake. As I’m gluten free I have a recipe for one which I can eat. You’ll find it here along with another recipe of mine and others from around the world in this free cook book
    http://internationalchristianfictionwriters.blogspot.com/
    Favourite tradition a real Christmas tree – just love the smell. Decorations go on to a carols CD or, dare I say, old fashioned record
    (I love singing carols – actually I love singing full stop.) The nativity scene is always set out first before any other decorating happens and the star on the top goes on last always.

  2. Oooh – I love crackling Dale! Right with you on that one! And the smell of that Roast Pork filling the house…. So delicious.

    I’m heading over to check out your recipes – and that free cook book! I’m a collector of recipes! (Much to the horro of my husband who has to continiually create new bookskelves.

    And snap on the carole (or any) singing! I sing along in the supermarket/dept store/bathroom! Anywhere, and at Christmas it just adds to the atmosphere.

    You know what I love best? That people really smile at each other. Magic.

    Thank you Dale! What a lovely response.

  3. Hi Kerri,

    We’ve got a chocolate fountain and we only get to use it sometimes, but we always use it at Christmas time. So, that’s my favourite Christmas food.

    We dip strawberries and cherries in chocolate and we eat them. My sisters love dipping marshmallows best, but I love the strawberries. Yum!

  4. Hey Emma! Lovely to see you here. I love chocolate dipped strawberries as well – but I think my favourite might be choc-dipped pineapple. It’s yum as well. My daughter loves choc-dipped banana as well!

    What a great time of the year! Happy dipping!

  5. What a fun post! Over here it’s really cold at Christmas so we love our hot food. Lots of turkey! Though we love our ham as well.

    My favourite Christmas thing is to bake lots of cookies to give out to friends and neighbours. It becomes a family thing and we’re baking right from December 1.

    I just love that smell of warm baked cookies!

    And I admit I love my egg nog! Yum! Thanks for this post, Kerri

    • Hi Elizabeth…

      Aww, it sounds so great! We bake, but it gets so hot over here I try to do it early in the morning or the house heats up too much.

      I agree, you can’t beat that fresh baked cookie smell though!

      My husband also loves egg nog – but nicely chilled with some ice (and extra rum!).
      Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

