Selling Your Story – the noughties way… Or: “Why didn’t I think of that…”

As an author, I am beset with ideas. Many of them – ahem – are absolute nonsense. But there are always a couple of gems in the rubble that polish up quite nicely.  And those gems are then worked and slaved over; agonised over and cried over. Many months (or weeks depending on length) later, I emerge triumphant. I have a story!

So, it’s all worth it, right? Well it iiiiissss… Because there’s nothing like that euphoric feeling of accomplishment that comes with the completion of any work that you’ve shed blood over. However, then comes more agony: will anyone else, (insert editor) like it? Will I be able to sell it?

Well, I’m here to tell you that I’ve been agonising pointlessly. There’s an easier way and I don’t know why I didn’t think of it earlier. I haven’t GOT to work, slave, cry and bleed over my works – I just need to sell the idea and leave the agony to someone else! How easy is that!

Well at least that’s what this person thinks anyway. He or she is selling his/her story idea on ebay and it’s a steal at a cool $10,000,000 . Yep – that’s 7 zeros. BUT! Don’t stress if it’s out of your budget! $10m is the ‘Buy ‘Now’ price. You ‘could’ pick it up at a much more reasonable price if you enter into auction. Opening bids begin at a paltry $3mill. Cheap!! http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220744269251

The good news? You’ve still got two days to bid!! So, happy eBaying and may you all make a fortune selling your ideas… Me? I’m imagining what I might do with my own $10mill… Actually, given all the ideas in my idea file, I’m set to become a mega-multi-millionaire.

Okay, would love to stay and chat, but there’s a South Pacific island for sale and it’s got my name on it…

2 Responses

  1. I was gobsmacked when I read about this yesterday and thought ‘seriously?’ Would love to see if anyone actually bids. You know maybe an oil mogul with too much money they don’t know what to do with. 🙂

    • You know, this just epitomises the public assumption that all authors are rolling in money! Obviously the person offering his/her story assumes that the suthor will go on to reoup that money (& more). If only it was true!!! LOL. Thanks, gorgeous! I love you dropping by!

Leave a Reply

